Rideshare Accident Lawyer

Companies like Uber and Lyft have a duty to their drivers and passengers. If you were involved in an accident with an Uber or Lyft, call our rideshare accident attorneys today for your free consultation.
Call NowContact Us

Rideshare Accident Lawyer

Companies like Uber and Lyft have a duty to their drivers and passengers. If you were involved in an accident with an Uber or Lyft, call our rideshare accident attorneys today for your free consultation.
Call NowContact Us

What are Rideshares?

Rideshares became popular in 2009, thanks to Uber, the first rideshare service. Lyft is another popular rideshare service that is used by many Floridians. Rideshares are great options if you want a quick and easy way to get from one place to another. But, many people have expressed concerns over the safety of rideshare recently. For starters, being driven around by a stranger poses a unique set of problems. Some drivers may be less qualified to get behind the wheel than we’d like to imagine. While Florida law requires that these drivers meet some criteria, using a rideshare driver still comes with its fair share of risks. For this reason, you want to have an attorney on your side if you have been injured while using a rideshare service.

What are Rideshares?

Rideshares became popular in 2009, thanks to Uber, the first rideshare service. Lyft is another popular rideshare service that is used by many Floridians. Rideshares are great options if you want a quick and easy way to get from one place to another. But, many people have expressed concerns over the safety of rideshare recently. For starters, being driven around by a stranger poses a unique set of problems. Some drivers may be less qualified to get behind the wheel than we’d like to imagine. While Florida law requires that these drivers meet some criteria, using a rideshare driver still comes with its fair share of risks. For this reason, you want to have an attorney on your side if you have been injured while using a rideshare service.

What are the Liability Requirements?

Florida law requires all drivers to carry $10,000 in personal injury protection and $10,000 in property damage liability. Rideshare drivers are required to have at least $1 million in liability coverage. Some rideshare companies include insurance for their drivers in accordance with Florida law and offer insurance in case of uninsured motorists.

What are the Liability Requirements?

Florida law requires all drivers to carry $10,000 in personal injury protection and $10,000 in property damage liability. Rideshare drivers are required to have at least $1 million in liability coverage. Some rideshare companies include insurance for their drivers in accordance with Florida law and offer insurance in case of uninsured motorists.

What Rights Do Passengers Have?

Florida has established no-tolerance ridesharing laws where companies must do thorough background checks on applicants. Those who don’t meet certain requirements and driving records will be rejected as drivers. Additionally, as a passenger in a rideshare vehicle that is involved in an accident, you can recover from the at-fault driver for injuries you sustain.

Before getting in a rideshare, it’s also important to consider that companies like Uber and Lyft do not disclose data on how many accidents occur with their drivers. You can research accidents online to find stories from other passengers who have been in accidents, and the aftermath that follows. As a passengers, getting compensated if you’ve been in an accident can be difficult, which is why it’s a smart move to have an attorney on your side.

What Rights Do Passengers Have?

Florida has established no-tolerance ridesharing laws where companies must do thorough background checks on applicants. Those who don’t meet certain requirements and driving records will be rejected as drivers. Additionally, as a passenger in a rideshare vehicle that is involved in an accident, you can recover from the at-fault driver for injuries you sustain.

Before getting in a rideshare, it’s also important to consider that companies like Uber and Lyft do not disclose data on how many accidents occur with their drivers. You can research accidents online to find stories from other passengers who have been in accidents, and the aftermath that follows. As a passengers, getting compensated if you’ve been in an accident can be difficult, which is why it’s a smart move to have an attorney on your side.

What About Drivers?

As a driver for a rideshare company, it can be complicated. When using your vehicle but not in the course of rideshare hours, you may or may not be covered under the rideshare company’s insurance policy. There are four defined “periods” that determine which insurance (personal or company) would cover an accident.

What About Drivers?

As a driver for a rideshare company, it can be complicated. When using your vehicle but not in the course of rideshare hours, you may or may not be covered under the rideshare company’s insurance policy. There are four defined “periods” that determine which insurance (personal or company) would cover an accident.

Periods of Rideshare Liability

Period 0

This is when a driver is driving a rideshare vehicle, but not logged into the rideshare app. The driver is not in “driver mode” so personal car insurance would apply to accidents. Company insurance plays no role.

Period 1

This is when the driver is logged into the app but has not yet accepted a ride request. In this period, the rideshare company provides liability coverage for accidents caused by the driver. However, it only covers property damage and injuries sustained by other people. It does NOT cover any vehicle damage or injuries that the driver sustains. It typically pays $50,000 per person to a person injured in the accident, with $100,000 total injury liability per accident. It typically pays $25,000 in property damage liability per accident.

Note that injuries and property damage in a serious accident car far surpass these total amounts, which is why passengers are at risk. Furthermore, this insurance will only benefit an injured party after they’ve made a claim on their own insurance policy first. Rather, the rideshare company won’t give you these benefits unless you are able to prove that you have your own insurance.

Period 2 and 3

This is when the driver has accepted a ride and lasts until the passenger gets out. Rideshare companies provide liability coverage in the amount of $1 million during this period. This money covers injuries sustained by customers who are using a rideshare vehicle. It also applies to injuries/vehicle damage sustained by anyone who is hit by a rideshare vehicle while they are transporting a customer.

If you are hit by an uninsured driver while driving in a rideshare, some companies may offer a policy of up to $1 million for these accidents.

Finally, remember that rideshare companies employ their drivers as independent contractors instead of employees. This limits the legal liabilities of the company itself if there is an accident. Rather, the rideshare companies heavily benefit from this agreement, because they avoid much of the risk if an accident does occur.

Periods of Rideshare Liability

Period 0

This is when a driver is driving a rideshare vehicle, but not logged into the rideshare app. The driver is not in “driver mode” so personal car insurance would apply to accidents. Company insurance plays no role.

Period 1

This is when the driver is logged into the app but has not yet accepted a ride request. In this period, the rideshare company provides liability coverage for accidents caused by the driver. However, it only covers property damage and injuries sustained by other people. It does NOT cover any vehicle damage or injuries that the driver sustains. It typically pays $50,000 per person to a person injured in the accident, with $100,000 total injury liability per accident. It typically pays $25,000 in property damage liability per accident.

Note that injuries and property damage in a serious accident car far surpass these total amounts, which is why passengers are at risk. Furthermore, this insurance will only benefit an injured party after they’ve made a claim on their own insurance policy first. Rather, the rideshare company won’t give you these benefits unless you are able to prove that you have your own insurance.

Period 2 and 3

This is when the driver has accepted a ride and lasts until the passenger gets out. Rideshare companies provide liability coverage in the amount of $1 million during this period. This money covers injuries sustained by customers who are using a rideshare vehicle. It also applies to injuries/vehicle damage sustained by anyone who is hit by a rideshare vehicle while they are transporting a customer.

If you are hit by an uninsured driver while driving in a rideshare, some companies may offer a policy of up to $1 million for these accidents.

Finally, remember that rideshare companies employ their drivers as independent contractors instead of employees. This limits the legal liabilities of the company itself if there is an accident. Rather, the rideshare companies heavily benefit from this agreement, because they avoid much of the risk if an accident does occur.

Our Attorneys Can Help

Ridesharing is a new concept under Florida law. Different in many ways from regular auto accidents, rideshare accidents can be confusing to deal with. This is why it is good to have an experienced attorney trained and knowledgeable about Florida ridesharing laws.

Our Florida lawyers can help you determine who is liable for what and what damages the insurance companies must pay.

Our Attorneys Can Help

Ridesharing is a new concept under Florida law. Different in many ways from regular auto accidents, rideshare accidents can be confusing to deal with. This is why it is good to have an experienced attorney trained and knowledgeable about Florida ridesharing laws.

Our Florida lawyers can help you determine who is liable for what and what damages the insurance companies must pay.

Lawyer Up Now - Get Your Free Consultation